Siargao Island

We were exhausted from yesterday’s day trip but not too much for me not to feel the 4 AM aftershock from Tandag. It wasn’t that disturbing, and although the thought of experiencing aftershocks while we could be well on our way on this trip might be scary, I was somehow feeling good about our safety while we’re there.

That morning, we woke up at 6 AM, rode the van to Hayanggabon Port, boarded the public boat to Siargao and came there at noon time.

It took me a while before the reality sank in. We’re in Siargao!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Siargao is definitely beautiful. All I could say is that I enjoyed it and when the moment an opportunity to come back here comes, I’d stay there for as long as I like.

Cloud 9

The waves were too big and too strong for surfing when we came in Siargao so we never got the chance to do that. It was sad how we came to the country’s surfing capital and did not surf. But, I was happy then and it only means we’ve got a good reason to come back there.

Naked Island, Daku Island, and Guyam Island

We spent our second day in Siargao touring the islands of Naked Island, Isla Daku, and Guyam Island. All boasted of white beach and are real pictures of paradise.

The island hopping lasted the entire morning. That afternoon, we took the motorbike to a drive in the island.

Magpupungko Tidal Flats

It was a pleasant 2 hour drive from General Luna to Pilar. We drove to visit the Magpupungko pool and had an afternoon dip in the rock pool.

We spent only a few minutes there. We could have spent more but we lack the time. Before heading back to General Luna, we took a side trip to Tayangban Cave, which we surprisingly enjoyed.

Tayangban Cave Pool

It was a cave pool! You can jump, swim, and do spelunking. It was a spontaneous and fun experience.

Perhaps it’s the lack of chances we had to fully enjoy the island that makes me go hungry for more days in Siargao. Two days and two nights, personally, were not enough for me to lay back, relax, and take my time to just be there, drinking in the sweet salty air, and I don’t know. It just wasn’t enough for me. My most favorite part of this entire trip was the motorbike ride and for a reason only I could understand, that precious time also enchanted me in so many ways.

Surigao Series:

When in Surigao: Tinuy-An Falls
When in Surigao: Enchanted River
When in Surigao: Siargao Island
When in Surigao: Bucas Grande and Sohoton Cove

Leave a Reply

