Me and Palaui: Punta Verde

So one weekend, there I was on my own two feet, alongside dirt and dusts, stomping on puddles of water, cemented roads, and off to Cagayan’s wonderful island of Palaui!

DSC_0025

It was, finally, a trip I can call on my own.

There were a few mishaps (that I’m a little embarassed to share) as I began this weekend trip but I just took them like I take the ube in my halo-halo, those were bits and pieces of yumminess 😉

Anyway, the bus ride to Tuguegarao coming from Manila takes 10 hours and from there, I rode a van to the topmost town in northeastern Cagayan, the town of Sta. Ana.

The ride to Sta. Ana was scenic. The weather was perfect and the landscapes were amazing. I could see Sierra Madre lining the greenfields from the beginning until the end of the trip. The bridges were also lovely to look at, too bad I couldn’t get off the van and take pictures. It was a three hour van ride before we arrived at the Port of San Vicente.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

San Vicente Port is where the boats going to and from Palaui are docked. I met with Kuya Edwin Tabucol, my bangkero for the trip. I also met a traveler-slash-photographer-slash-doctor and made a deal with her to take the island trip together so we could share the expenses.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Everything that happened were all smooth and relaxing. I knew I was by myself but I had nothing to worry about.

Kuya Edwin made a short orientation about the island, what to find there, the tourist attractions, what to do, where to go, etc. We chose to take the route visiting four destinations, Punta Verde, Cape Engaño, Crocodile Island, and Anguib Beach.

We rode the boat and enjoyed the 15-minute ride to Palaui. According to Kuya Edwin, Palaui island only has one inhabited town located in Punta Verde. The houses lined the strip of the shore of Punta Verde. That was where we spent the night. The rest of the island is composed of the wilderness and vegetations.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Punta Verde is a quiet little town, and my overnight stay there was quite memorable.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset
our dinner 😉
Processed with VSCOcam
morning view
Processed with VSCOcam
morning from the other side
Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset
our breakfast before the trip next morning
Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset
our little homestay

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Doc Rina, my instant travel buddy
Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset
our boatmen

There were a lot to do in Palaui and what they all gave me was a weekend of being one with nature and a whole lot of wonders.

Hike to Cape Engaño

Crocodile Island

Anguib Beach


 

Contacts:

Boat: Kuya Edwin Tabucol – +639269064657 / +639161165850
Homestay: Ate Elsa +639052832559

One thought on “Me and Palaui: Punta Verde

Leave a Reply

