CCP’s Orchestra & Band Festival

I was antsy to leave work that late Thursday afternoon. My mom kept sending me text messages to prepare because we’ll be going out that evening. And I was so excited because we’re headed for another night in CCP for the Orchestra & Band Festival! That night, orchestras from Saint Louis University, De La Salle Zobel, UP, and of course, UST, were going to grace the stage. 🙂

2014-07-03 19.00.56

As usual, my mother and my brother kept me company for the night. Sitting down to listen to classical music isn’t really my father’s thing, and the same goes for my youngest brother, hehe. Actually, my mother isn’t a fan as well but she loved to keep me company.

We entered the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (CCP Little Theater) for the evening’s program, which was supposed to be started by the UP orchestra. But a last minute change was made, making the UST Wind Orchestra the first performer. I loved their Rimsky Korskov’s Procession of Nobles (in ‘Mlada’). And some of the orchestra’s musicians were a little interesting in a way. They also performed a Tuba concerto. They closed their performance by Sparke’s Dance Movements, a lively, nice piece. Michael Jacinto conducted the orchestra.

The De La Salle Zobel Symphonic Band followed with Nena Chavez and Linwell Lalic as conductors. The orchestra was fantastic and they played lively music from ABBA and even ones from Michael Jackson. My mother enjoyed their performances immensely.

The third to stand onstage is the Saint Louis University orchestra with Marivic Macadaeg as conductor. They appeared flamboyantly onstage with their bright royal blue gowns, it was quite lovely. I enjoyed their music too. They played Reineke’s awesome Fate of Gods and I loved it that they also played Tribute to the Cordillerans.

UP orchestra closed the festival with their serenades and lullaby. Edna Marcil Martinez conducted the orchestra and she did amazingly so with Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for String Orchestra Op. 48, Elgar’s Serenade for Strings Op. 30, and Glinka’s Ruslan nd Lusmilla Overture. Soloists also performed their crafts nicely with Weber’s Concerto No. 1 for Clarinet and Anderson’s A Trumpeter’s Lullaby. And by the way, I loved the conductor’s evening dress, so sparkly and elegant. 🙂

It was a delightful evening for me indeed and I am looking forward for more evenings like this.

fds

The festival’s aim is to provide exposure and opportunities for the different talented bands and orchestras of the country. The festival, which started last July 1, 2014, will only run until today, July 6, 2014. Visit their website for more info.

Leave a Reply

